SOUL ON FIRE
Those Hare Krishnas
What I do When Depression Comes Knockin'
1
0:00
-17:09

What I do When Depression Comes Knockin'

And a kirtan you must listen to
1

Forget Your Needs and Plant Your Seeds

Everything has a place. How about the F word?

I'm depressed today.
It's familiar and wants me to sink.
Here's how I’ll transcend it.

For him who has conquered the mind, the mind is the best of friends; but for one who has failed to do so, his mind will remain the greatest enemy.

Bhagavad Gita 6.6

My mind is not yet a friend by a long shot. But knowing that gives me a massive advantage.
I can perform better today because that fact is so obvious to me.
When I'm not depressed, I'm lulled into a false sense of comfort and only take actions my "friendly bright-eyed mind" permits me to.

So today I say f*ck you to the mind and actually work to my potential which is way larger than my mind would ever allow me to believe.

Forget your needs and get busy planting your seed.

We usually get depressed because we don’t like who we’re being or what we’re doing or not doing.

The solution isn’t to lie in a hammock until the “depression passes”. It’s to look at where you’re coming up short against your commitment (lacking integrity). Everyone is committed to something whether we know it or not and when we fall short in fulfilling our commitment, we get depressed.

Looking here for a solution to depression rather than blaming circumstances or other people is the way of the spiritual warrior.

Those who have read the Gita know how Arjuna did this and came out more victorious than he could even imagine.

Hare Kṛṣṇa


Join a Gita Gang

Bhagavad Gita As It Is by Swami S.P. Bhaktivedanta (English) Hardcover ...

Are you interested in finding out more about how the Bhagavad Gita could help you level up your life?

Check out the new site by pressing the button below.

Gita Gang


If you liked the kirtan you’ll love this.


Art

Srila Prabhupada (author of the Bhagavad Gita AS IT IS) By Kardama Kapila Prabhu of GBC crew

Thank you for reading SOULS ON FIRE. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

1 Comment
SOUL ON FIRE
Those Hare Krishnas
All things related to Krishna consciousness